Edmonton’s Elite

25 Mar

Edmonton’s first Yelp Elite event was hosted at Flirt Cupcakes last night and I was in attendance ! Every guest was greeted by Crystal, “Yelp Ambassador” from Vancouver and Brittany, Edmonton’s very own Community Manager. After mingling with these two you were shuffled to the back to get yourself a drink, Red Stripe Beer from Irie Foods as well as Cupcake wine from Flirt, red or white! This cupcake wine really has nothing to do with cupcakes besides the fact that it was at Flirt Cupcakes. I didn’t get to have a glass until the end of the night but I really enjoyed it. I’m not much of a wine drinker but I am pretty specific as to what I like. It was really smooth, I’d even say silky to drink and it was sweet just how I like it. Not cupcake sweet but it was definitely up my alley ! And you’re able to purchase it at a couple stores around town for just $10 a bottle ! After getting our drinks we moved even more into the back, where the magic happens ;). With a selection of vanilla and chocolate cakes (may have been more selection but that’s all I saw) you were also given the selection of butter cream icings to choose from, vanilla, chocolate, and strawberry. AND THEN.. you could even sprinkle them ! Now my last experience at Flirt was horrendous, I was at the newly opened Londonderry mall location and the icing on my cupcakes was very plasticy tasting.. Last night was a whole new experience, it was sweet, and butter cream! And everyone knows how much I despise butter cream.. but it was really good ! Not too sweet, didn’t hurt my teeth at all haha !

And right after this I made my way to the cupcake tray and munched out hard !

The next little bit was just meeting fellow yelpers and mingling and then Packrat Louie showed up to the party with crab cakes and Moroccan jumbo shrimp! The crab cakes were awesome but the shrimp were just OK, kind of bland ! I apologize for the horrendous quality picture but I was standing behind glass !

Shortly after food came, Sonic’s Band of the month, Sister Gray came and played a four song acoustic set, not my style but it was pretty good! They both had really nice voices.  A couple raffle prizes were drawn and the evening was concluded. Lots of us stuck around and mingled, got to know each other, awkward conversations, swapping food gems, and thanked Flirt owners for having us.

And to conclude, here’s me munchin out on some shrimp with a shit eating grin !

Flirt Cupcakes
10158 82 Ave
www.flirtcupcakes.com

www.yelp.ca

4 Responses to “Edmonton’s Elite”

  1. Brittany K March 25, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    What a fabulous post – I love the photos! Thanks so much for the write-up 🙂 glad you had such a great time!

    • JJD March 25, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

      Absolutely ! Can’t wait to see all the official pictures !

  2. Issac Maez March 26, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    nice work thank you

  3. buy tramadol April 16, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    Great .Now i can say thank you!

Leave a comment